« Back Home »

MTA Metro-North Railroad

The Metro-North Commuter Railroad (reporting mark MNCW), trading as MTA Metro-North Railroad or simply Metro-North, is a suburban commuter rail service run by the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA), a public authority of the state of New York. It is the busiest commuter railroad in the United States in terms of monthly ridership, surpassing its sister railroad, the Long Island Rail Road in 2014. Metro–North runs service between New York City and its northern suburbs in New York and Connecticut, including in New York State, Port Jervis, Spring Valley, Poughkeepsie, White Plains, and Wassaic; in Connecticut, New Canaan, Danbury, Waterbury, and New Haven. Metro-North also provides local rail service within New York City with a reduced fare. There are 122 stations on Metro-North Railroad's five active lines (plus the Meadowlands Rail Line), which operate on more than 775 miles (1,247 km) of track, with the passenger railroad system totaling 385 miles (620 km) of route.